Michelle's Real Reads: Children's Nonfiction Book Recommendations 

Check out some of these new nonfiction titles available at the library!

 

If Bees Disappeared by Lily Williams 

Though bees are small, their importance is BIG. Today there are over 250,000 species of bees but all of them are in danger. Because of disease, pesticide exposure, lack of foraging habitats, and poor nutrition, entire honey bee hives are dying.

What would happen if bees disappeared completely?

Artist Lily Williams explores how such a loss would effect not just bees' environment, but the world as a whole in this poignant, beautiful book about the importance of our most important bees.

Walking Toward Peace: The True Story of a Brave Woman Called Peace Pilgrim by Kathleen Krull

Tells the true story of Peace Pilgrim, a female activist and spiritual leader who sacrificed everything to travel by foot around America promoting peace.

The Stuff Between the Stars: How Vera Rubin Discovered Most of the Universe by Sandra Nickel, illustrated by Aimee Sicuro

Vera Rubin was one of the astronomers who discovered and named dark matter, the thing that keeps the universe hanging together. Throughout her career she was never taken seriously as a scientist because she was one of the only female astronomers at that time, but she didn't let that stop her. She made groundbreaking and incredibly significant discoveries that scientists have only recently been able to really appreciate--and she changed the way that we look at the universe. A stunning portrait of a little-known trailblazer, The Stuff Between the Stars tells Vera's story and inspires the youngest readers who are just starting to look up at the stars. 

We Are Still Here! Native American Truths Everyone Should Know by Traci Sorell, illustrated by Frane Lessac 


Too often, Native American history is treated as a finished chapter instead of relevant and ongoing. This companion book to the award-winning We Are Grateful- Otsaliheliga offers readers everything they never learned in school about Native American people's past, present, and future. Precise, lyrical writing presents topics including- forced assimilation (such as boarding schools), land allotment and Native tribal reorganization, termination (the US government not recognizing tribes as nations), Native urban relocation (from reservations), self-determination (tribal self-empowerment), Native civil rights, the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA), religious freedom, economic development (including casino development), Native language revival efforts, cultural persistence, and nationhood.

Monarch Butterflies by Ann Hobbie, illustrated by Olga Baumert 

Monarchs are a favorite and familiar North American butterfly, and their incredible annual migration has captured the popular imagination for generations. As populations of monarchs decline dramatically due to habitat loss and climate change, interest in and enthusiasm for protecting these beloved pollinators has skyrocketed. With easy-to-read text and colorful, engaging illustrations, Monarch Butterflies presents young readers with rich, detailed information about the monarchs' life cycle, anatomy, and the wonders of their signature migration, as well as how to raise monarchs at home and the cultural significance of monarchs in Day of the Dead celebrations. As the book considers how human behavior has harmed monarchs, it offers substantive ways kids can help make a positive difference. Children will learn how to turn lawns into native plant gardens, become involved in citizen science efforts such as tagging migrating monarchs and participating in population counts, and support organizations that work to conserve butterflies. 

Mindful Moves: Kid-Friendly Yoga and Peaceful Activities for a Happy, Healthy You by Nicole Cardoza 

With delightful illustrations and kid-friendly language, Mindful Moves  introduces kids to simple mindfulness activities that are fun, easy to remember, and available for kids to turn to any time the need arises, no matter where they are. Check Your Inner Weather encourages children to tune into how they feel in the moment and accept their feelings without judgement. Pose like a Superhero helps fill kids with inner strength and confidence, while Breathe like a Walrus helps them channel frustration or anger through breath and facial relaxation. Each of the meditation, mindfulness, yoga, and movement activities is designed to help kids stay calm, be present, and feel focused and happy. Whether it's before a busy day at school, in the backseat of the car, during a test, or heading off to bed, this is a guide kids can refer to again and again!

The Suffragist Playbook by Lucinda Robb & Rebecca Boggs Roberts 

The women's suffrage movement was decades in the making and came with many harsh setbacks. But it resulted in a permanent victory: women's right to vote. How did the suffragists do it? One hundred years later, an eye-opening look at their playbook shows that some of their strategies seem oddly familiar. Women's marches at inauguration time? Check. Publicity stunts, optics, and influencers? They practically invented them. Petitions, lobbying, speeches, raising money, and writing articles? All of that, too.

From moments of inspiration to some of the movement's darker aspects--including the racism of some suffragist leaders, violence against picketers, and hunger strikes in jail--this clear-eyed view takes in the role of key figures: Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Sojourner Truth, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Frances Willard, Ida B. Wells, Alice Paul, and many more. Engagingly narrated by Lucinda Robb and Rebecca Boggs Roberts, whose friendship goes back generations (to their grandmothers, Lady Bird Johnson and Lindy Boggs, and their mothers, Lynda Robb and Cokie Roberts), this unique melding of seminal history and smart tactics is sure to capture the attention of activists-in-the-making today.

The Book of Not Entirely Useful Advice: Spectacularly Silly Poems by A.F. Harrold, Illustrated by Mini Grey 

From acclaimed writer A.F. Harrold comes a riotous poetry collection that encourages readers to think critically--perfect for fans of Shel Silverstein! Packed with silly rhymes and witty wordplay, A.F. Harrold's poetry is positively bursting with fun--and advice. But it's not always the most useful. . . Among the seemingly nonsensical stanzas on onions, sausages, and kilted koalas, are exercises in critical thinking--what advice should readers follow, and what should they dismiss? Harrold's short, clever poems work seamlessly alongside Mini Grey's vibrant art to create visual gags that will have readers in stitches. Both silly and poignant, this book is perfect for curious readers, poets, and cabbages everywhere!

Strange Nature: The Insect Portraits of Levon Biss by Gregory Mone, Photographs by Levon Biss

Adapted from the adult title Microsculpture, this book for young readers is a unique photographic study of insects in mind-blowing magnification that celebrates the wonders of nature and science. Levon Biss's photographs capture in breathtaking detail the beauty of the insect world and are printed in large-scale formats to provide an unforgettable viewing experience. The book also features an all-new, kid-friendly text from acclaimed science writer Gregory Mone, who brings the insects to life for young readers with plenty of humor and fascinating facts.

Everything You Need to Know When You Are 10 by Kirsten Miller 

What's the best gift for a kid who's turned 10? Everything they need to know! Ten is a major year in every kid's life. It's when they finally reach double digits--and that means more freedom and responsibility. It also means there's a ton of stuff to learn, and some of it's pretty important. Inside this hilarious handbook is the information kids need to make 10 one of the best years of their lives--from the fun to the serious to the downright disgusting.
 

There’s No Ham in Hamburgers by Kim Zachman 

Why is there no ham in hamburgers? How did we make ice cream before we could make ice? How did hot dogs get their name? From the origins of pizza (which got a big boost from Clarence Birdseye, of all people) to the Cornell professor who invented chicken fingers, There's No Ham in Hamburgers has all the ingredients for an entertaining and educational middle-grade read. Packed with informative sidebars, recipes, and experiments, along with fabulously funny illustrations by Peter Donnelly, this book is a reading recipe that kids will sink their teeth into!

 

If bees disappeared

Walking toward peace : the true story of a brave woman called Peace Pilgrim

The stuff between the stars : how Vera Rubin discovered most of the universe

We are still here! : Native American truths everyone should know

 

 

Monarch butterflies : explore the life journey of one of the winged wonders of the world

 

Mindful moves : kid-friendly yoga and peaceful activities for a happy, healthy you

 

The suffragist playbook : your guide to changing the world

 

The book of not entirely useful advice

Strange nature : the insect portraits of Levon Biss

Everything you need to know when you are 10

There's no ham in hamburgers : facts and folklore about our favorite foods